Presentation of Euro

          THE EURO is the single currency shared by 19 Member states of the European Union, which, together, constitute the Eurozone. The introduction of the euro in 1999 marked a decisive stage in the European integration. It also represents one of its major successes: about 375 million citizens of the EU use it at the moment and take advantage of its advantages, which will broadcast even more widely as other European countries will adopt the euro.

Four micro-states (Andorra, Monaco, San Marino and Vatican) are also authorized to use the euro and two European countries, Montenegro and Kosovo, use it de facto while others have their national currencies connected to the euro.

Used from 1999 for the European financial transactions, it is put in circulation on January 1st, 2002 under its fiduciary shape. It succeeds the ECU, the "European Currency Unit ", put into service in 1979.

Creation of the Euro

          January 1st, 2002, 304 millions of European change currency, 14 billion bills are printed representing 633 billion euros, 52 billion coins are struck for a weight of 250.000 tons of metal. It is the most important and most best orchestrated change which the European Union knew. The Union makes a deafening entrance in the XXIth century. But the history still remains to write and the monetary policy to be built.

Why the euro ?
In 1979, is officially set up the European Monetary System which limits the variations of the exchange rates between the European currencies. A country could not let its currency devalue or appreciate in a too important way with regard to those of his neighbors. For it the European states create a unit of account, European Currency Unit (ECU), which consists of various currencies of the EU, among which pound sterling.

Timeline of the Euro

     The European currencies will have to bind themselves in the ECU which represents the " European monetary stability " and not take down its rates (+/-2.25 %). These measures aim at avoiding that a country sees its currency losing of its value compared with the others, and so destabilizes the European, interdependent space economically.

In front of the failure of the control of parities, idea of a common currency totally terminating these monetary instabilities strengthens. The implementation of the euro results from a will to create definitively a stable monetary area in Europe to favor the state economies. This is the way in 1999, the euro is created.

The ECB : When the euro was thrown, the responsibility of the monetary policy was confided to the European Central Bank independent ECB-EUROPEAN CENTRAL BANK, which was created to this end, and to the national central banks of the Member states who adopted the euro. Together, these institutions compose the Eurosystem.

         The Euro is the currency of the 375 million people who live in 19 countries of the Eurozone. It is also used - either officially as official rate, or for practical reasons - by a whole series of the other countries, as close neighbors and the former colonies.

It is not thus surprising that the euro quickly became the second international currency after the dollar and even exceeded it in some respects (e.g. the value of liquid assets in circulation).

          The euro is managed by the European Central Bank ECB which sits in Frankfurt and by Euroystème compound of central banks of the states of the Eurozone. As independent central bank, the ECB is the unique authority having the power to fix a monetary policy for the whole Eurozone. Euroystème participates in the impression, the strike and the distribution of billets and coins in all the Member states. It also watches the smooth running of the systems of payments within the Eurozone.

Utility : Besides the fact that it facilitates largely the journeys, a single currency presents a considerable economic and political interest. The frame in which the euro is managed in fact a stable currency, with not much inflation and weak interest rates, and incites to guard healthy public finances. The single currency is also the logical complement to the single market, which confers him a bigger efficiency. The recourse to a single currency strengthens the transparency of the prices, eliminates the expenses of exchange, puts some oil in the cogs of the European economy, facilitates the international exchanges and allows the EU to make his/her voice heard better in the world. The size and the strength of the Eurozone also insure him a better protection against the external economic shocks, such as the unexpected increases of the oil prices or the disturbances of financial markets.

Finally, the euro brings to the citizens of the EU a tangible symbol of their European identity, of which they can feel all the more proud as the Eurozone spreads and multiplies these advantages for his existing and future members.

EMU - Economic and monetary union

All the Member states of the EU are a part of the economic and monetary Union (EMU), which can be described as a stage of economic integration moved forward based on a single market. It supposes a narrow coordination of the economic and fiscal policies and, for the countries which satisfy certain conditions, a common monetary policy and a single currency: the euro.

The process of economic and monetary integration in the EU is parallel to the history of the Very union. During the foundation of the EU in 1957, Member states concentrated their efforts on the construction of a "common market". However, over time, it seemed that a narrower economic and monetary cooperation was desirable for the development and the prosperity of the internal market. But it is only in 1992 when the objective of a full UEM and a single currency was registered in the treaty of Maastricht (handled on the European Union), which defined the fundamental rules of its introduction, worth knowing which are the objectives of the UEM, which is responsible for what and which are the conditions which Member states have to perform to adopt the euro. These conditions bear the name of "convergence criteria" (or " criteria of Maastricht ") and consist of a stable and weak inflation, a stability of the exchange rates and the healthy public finances.

Euroization

The Euro was created by the measures of the Treaty of Maastricht in 1992. To participate in the single currency, Member states are supposed to answer strict criteria such as a budget deficit of less than 3 % of their GDP (GROSS DOMESTIC PRODUCT), a debts lower than 60 % of the GDP, (two criteria which were regularly scoffed after the introduction of the euro), a weak inflation, and interest rates close to the average of the EU. During the signature of the Treaty of Maastricht, the United Kingdom and Denmark obtained options of retreat not to participate in the monetary union which would be translated by the introduction of the euro.

Extension of the Eurozone​

The membership in the euro is compulsory for the new members of the European Union, but every country in basic salary the date and has to respect the necessary economic conditions.

The Eurozone gradually widened​ :

  • Since January 1st, 2001, in Greece
  • Since January 1st, 2007, in Slovenia
  • Since January 1st, 2008, in Cyprus and in Malta
  • Since January 1st, 2009, in Slovakia
  • Since January 1st, 2011, in Estonia
  • Since January 1st, 2014, in Latvia
  • Since January 1st, 2015, in Lithuania

 

User countries of the euro
On January 1st, 2015, 19 countries of the European Union use the euro as national currency. Thus in these are added four States except EU having agreements official and using the euro in a official way as well as two other States having adopted him one-sidedly. The case of the British bases in Cyprus is particular: the treaty of independence of Cyprus planned a shift towards the Euro there; this peculiarity is planned by the Treaty of membership of Cyprus and by the right British.

Currencies connected to the Euro

          Because of preliminary agreements (with the French franc and the Portuguese escudo), African and oceanian currencies are bound to the euro by a fixed rate :

  • The CFA franc BEAC (code XAF); Central Africa
  • The CFA franc BCEAO (code XOF); western Africa
  • The CFP franc (code XPF); the Frank Pacific
  • The Comoros franc (code KMF)
  • The dobra of Sao Tome-et-Principe (code STD)
  • The Cape Verdean escudo of the Cape Verde (code CVE)

The convertible mark of Bosnia and Herzegovina (code BAM) corresponds besides to the value of former Deutsche mark, and thus finds itself bound to the euro by a fixed rate equal to the rate of conversion DM / EURO. Also, the lev of Bulgaria (code BGN) had one-sidedly been fixed to parity with Deutsche marks and thus benefits from the same exchange rate towards the euro.

Spelling and grammar​

Because of different alphabets names and national divisions of the euro are not spelt and do not pronounce in the same way in all the countries of the zone.

Because of the diversity of the grammatical rules within the Eurozone, the "euro" word on rooms and tickets is invariable and does not set of "S". However, in the French language, while he does not pronounce; by customs and uses to the paper, a "s" is generally added to the plural. The Académie française pronounced in this sense in a note published to the Gazette of December 2nd, 1997.

On the other hand, in France, the term "one hundred", being confusing, is not generally used in French; we speak about centime or, in a rarer and disadvised form, of one eurohundred (not to confuse with the centimes of franc during the passing phase). For similar reasons, it is said centimo in Spanish, centesimo in Italian, lepton (plural lepta) in Greek, while does not cause this problem in English, for example, language in which it is adopted as it is.

La liaison avec l'adjectif antéposé et le nom euro suit la règle habituelle du français, on prononce donc un(n)euro, dix(z)Euro, vingt(t)Euro, quatre-vingts(z)Euro, cent(t)Euro, etc.

As regards Eurocol, EURO is invariable.

Member States

          The Eurozone is a monetary area which includes the countries of the European Union which adopted the euro (EUR, €) as single currency. On 28 Member states of the EU, 19 use the euro. These 19 countries represent more than 338 million inhabitants in January 1st, 2015. The Eurozone was created in 1999 by eleven countries:

Germany, Austria, Belgium, Spain, Finland, France, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Portugal, joined by Greece in 2001, by Slovenia in 2007, by Cyprus and Malta in 2008, by Slovakia in 2009, by Estonia in 2011, by Latvia in 2014 and by Lithuania in 2015.

Tickets and coins circulate since January 1st, 2002 but are made since the 1er january 1999 in eleven founding countries. Several criteria are necessary to join the Eurozone: a public deficit lower than 3 % of the GDP (GROSS DOMESTIC PRODUCT), a national debt not exceeding 60 % of the GDP, a mastered inflation, an independence of the central bank of the country and a stable national currency during at least two years within the MCE II.

The intervention rate refi by the Eurozone, fixed by the European Central Bank, is 0.000 % since March 10th, 2016 (it is published on the site of the European Central Bank). From the beginning of year 2010, with the release of the Greek public debt crisis, then the Irish crisis, the Eurozone enters for a period of turbulences. During numerous meeting of European advice(council) and numerous European summits, global architecture of the Eurozone is going to know profound evolutions.

The micro States

          Besides nineteen member countries of the UEM, four micro-states use the euro as official currency legally without being members of the European Union. The previous agreements allowing these micro-states to use their currency in parallel of that of their respective neighbor were seen renewed.

  • San Marino and Vatican, which had agreements with Italy to have their own coins (to read it vaticane and lira of San Marino), used until then the Italian lira.
  • Monaco had agreements with France to use the French franc in parallel of the frank person from Monaco.
  • The principality of Andorra, which used the French franc and the Spanish peseta at the time of the euroization, found itself de facto in the Eurozone. Initially, Andorra did not have the right to strike its euro coins with its own national face, but following a negotiation with the ECB( EUROPEAN CENTRAL BANK) and the European Commission, an agreement intervened on June 30th, 2011, which already allowed him to strike commemorative coins (without official rate). Since July 1st, 2013, Andorra can emit(utter) its own coins, which begin to circulate on January 15th, 2015.

This situation allows them to have their own national faces on the coins which they emit in euro.

I shall add that these four micro States do not participate in strikings of coins "in common broadcast", because "not members".

Without formal agreement, Montenegro and Kosovo use the euro but its use is not governed by a monetary agreement

8 votes. Average: 3.75 / 5.

Comments (2)

Zitoun
  • 1. Zitoun (link) | 05 nov 2017
I try to improve every day the pages of the site and prepare the version 2018 which will be more complete and better detailed.
One thank you, Jean, for this very encouraging message the geographical (?) origin of which I do not know
Zitoun
Clash of Clans gemmes gratuit pour iOS
  • 2. Clash of Clans gemmes gratuit pour iOS (link) | 04 nov 2017
Thanks for one's marvelous posting! I truly enjoyed reading it, you will be a great author.I will make sure to bookmark your blog and will eventually come back down the road.
I want to encourage that you continue your
great writing, have a nice morning!

Add a comment

Last edited: 26 mar 2019

Présentation de l'Euro

          L'EURO est la monnaie unique partagée par 19 États membres de l’Union européenne, qui, ensemble, constituent la zone euro. L’introduction de l’euro en 1999 a marqué une étape décisive dans l’intégration européenne. Elle représente aussi l’un de ses succès majeurs: quelque 375 millions de citoyens de l’UE l’utilisent à présent et profitent de ses avantages, qui se diffuseront encore plus largement à mesure que d’autres pays européens adopteront l’euro.

Quatre micro-États (Andorre, Monaco, Saint-Marin et le Vatican) sont également autorisés à utiliser l'euro et deux pays européens, le Montenegro et le Kosovo, l'utilisent de facto alors que d'autres ont leurs monnaies nationales liées à l'euro.

En usage dès 1999 pour les transactions financières européennes, il est mis en circulation le 1er janvier 2002 sous sa forme fiduciaire. Il succède à l'ECU, « l’unité de compte européenne », mise en service en 1979.

Création de l'Euro

          Le 1er janvier 2002, 304 millions d’européens changent de monnaie, 14 milliards de billets sont imprimés représentant 633 milliards d’euros, 52 milliards de pièces sont frappées pour un poids de 250.000 tonnes de métal. C’est le changement le plus important et le mieux orchestré que l’Union européenne ait connu. L’Union fait une entrée fracassante dans le XXIème siècle. Mais l’histoire reste encore à écrire et la politique monétaire à construire.

Pourquoi l’euro ?

En 1979, se met officiellement en place le Système Monétaire Européen qui limite les variations des taux de change entre les monnaies européennes. Un pays ne pouvait laisser sa monnaie se dévaluer ou s’apprécier de manière trop importante par rapport à celles de ses voisins. Pour cela les états européens créent une unité de compte, l’European Currency Unit (ECU), qui est composée des différentes monnaies de l’UE, dont la livre sterling.

Ze 1

 

     Les monnaies européennes devront s’arrimer à l’ECU qui représente la « stabilité monétaire européenne » et ne pas décrocher de ses taux (+/- 2.25%). Ces mesures ont pour but d’éviter qu’un pays voit sa monnaie perdre de sa valeur par rapport aux autres, et déstabilise ainsi l’espace européen, interdépendant économiquement.

Face à l’échec du contrôle des parités, l’idée d’une monnaie commune mettant totalement fin à ces instabilités monétaires se renforce. La mise en place de l’euro résulte d’une volonté de créer définitivement une zone monétaire stable en Europe pour favoriser les économies nationales. C’est ainsi qu’en 1999, l’euro est créé.

 

La BCE  Quand l’euro a été lancé, la responsabilité de la politique monétaire a été confiée à la Banque centrale européenne (BCE) indépendante, qui a été créée à cette fin, et aux banques centrales nationales des États membres qui ont adopté l’euro. Ensemble, ces institutions composent l’Eurosystème

         L’Euro est la monnaie des 375 millions de personnes qui vivent dans les 19 pays de la zone euro. Il est aussi utilisé – soit officiellement comme cours légal, soit pour des raisons pratiques – par toute une série d’autres pays, comme des proches voisins et d’anciennes colonies.

Il n’est donc pas étonnant que l’euro soit rapidement devenu la deuxième monnaie internationale après le dollar et l’ait même dépassé à certains égards (par ex. la valeur des liquidités en circulation).

Capture da ei cran 2017 02 08 ai 10 09 05

 

L’euro est géré par la Banque centrale européenne BCE qui siège à Francfort et par l’Euroystème composé des banques centrales des états de la zone euro. En tant que banque centrale indépendante, la BCE est l'unique instance ayant le pouvoir de fixer une politique monétaire pour l'ensemble de la zone euro. L'Euroystème participe à l'impression, la frappe et la distribution des billets et pièces dans tous les États membres. Il veille également au bon fonctionnement des systèmes de paiements au sein de la zone euro.

Utilité  Outre le fait qu’elle facilite grandement les voyages, une monnaie unique présente un intérêt économique et politique appréciable. Le cadre dans lequel l’euro est géré en fait une monnaie stable, avec peu d’inflation et de faibles taux d’intérêts, et incite à garder des finances publiques saines. La monnaie unique est aussi le complément logique du marché unique, qui lui confère une plus grande efficacité. Le recours à une monnaie unique renforce la transparence des prix, élimine les frais de change, met de l’huile dans les rouages de l’économie européenne, facilite les échanges internationaux et permet à l’UE de mieux faire entendre sa voix dans le monde. La taille et la force de la zone euro lui assurent aussi une meilleure protection contre les chocs économiques externes, tels que les hausses inattendues des prix pétroliers ou les perturbations des marchés financiers.

Enfin, l’euro apporte aux citoyens de l’UE un symbole tangible de leur identité européenne, dont ils peuvent se sentir d’autant plus fiers à mesure que la zone euro étend et multiplie ces avantages pour ses membres existants et futurs.

 

 

UEM - Union économique et monétaire

Tous les États membres de l’UE font partie de l’Union économique et monétaire (UEM), qui peut être décrite comme un stade d’intégration économique avancé fondé sur un marché unique. Cela suppose une coordination étroite des politiques économiques et fiscales et, pour les pays qui remplissent certaines conditions, une politique monétaire commune et une monnaie unique: l’euro.

Le processus d’intégration économique et monétaire dans l’UE est parallèle à l’histoire de l’Union elle-même. Lors de la fondation de l’UE en 1957, les États membres ont concentré leurs efforts sur la construction d’un «marché commun». Toutefois, au fil du temps, il est apparu qu’une coopération économique et monétaire plus étroite était souhaitable pour le développement et la prospérité du marché intérieur. Mais ce n’est qu’en 1992 que l’objectif d’une UEM à part entière et d’une monnaie unique a été inscrit dans le traité de Maastricht (traité sur l’Union européenne), qui a défini les règles fondamentales de son introduction, à savoir quels sont les objectifs de l’UEM, qui est responsable de quoi et quelles sont les conditions que les États membres doivent remplir pour adopter l’euro. Ces conditions portent le nom de «critères de convergence» (ou «critères de Maastricht») et consistent en une inflation stable et faible, une stabilité des taux de change et des finances publiques saines.

 

 

 

Passage à l'euro

L’Euro a été créé par les dispositions du Traité de Maastricht en 1992. Pour participer à la monnaie unique, les États membres sont censés répondre à des critères stricts tels qu'un déficit budgétaire de moins de 3 % de leur PIB, un endettement inférieur à 60 % du PIB (deux critères qui ont été régulièrement bafoués après l'introduction de l'euro), une faible inflation, et des taux d'intérêt proches de la moyenne de l'UE. Lors de la signature du Traité de Maastricht, le Royaume-Uni et le Danemark ont obtenu des options de retrait pour ne pas participer à l'union monétaire qui se traduirait par l'introduction de l’euro.

Chrf

 

 

 

 

Élargissement de la zone euro

L’adhésion à l’euro est obligatoire pour les nouveaux membres de l’Union européenne (UE), mais chaque pays en fixe la date et doit respecter les conditions économiques nécessaires.

La zone euro s’est progressivement élargie :

 

Pays utilisateurs de l'euro

Au 1er janvier 2015, 19 pays de l'Union européenne utilisent l'euro comme monnaie nationale. À ceux-ci s'ajoutent quatre États hors UE ayant des accords officiels et utilisant donc l'euro de façon officielle ainsi que deux autres États l'ayant adopté unilatéralement. Le cas des bases britanniques à Chypre est particulier: le traité d'indépendance de Chypre y prévoyait un basculement vers l'Euro; cette particularité est prévue par le Traité d'adhésion de Chypre et par le droit britannique.

Monnaies liées à l'Euro

          En raison d'accords préalables (avec le franc français et l'escudo portugais), des monnaies africaines et océaniennes sont liées à l'euro par un taux fixe :

  • le franc CFA BEAC (code XAF) ; Afrique Centrale
  • le franc CFA BCEAO (code XOF) ; Afrique de l'Ouest
  • le franc CFP (code XPF) ; Franc Pacifique
  • le franc comorien (code KMF) ;
  • le dobra de Sao Tome-et-Principe (code STD)
  • l'escudo cap-verdien du Cap-Vert (code CVE).

Le mark convertible de Bosnie-Herzégovine (code BAM) correspond par ailleurs à la valeur de l'ancien Deutsche Mark, et se retrouve donc lié à l'euro par un taux fixe égal au taux de conversion DM/Euro. De même, le lev de Bulgarie (code BGN) avait été unilatéralement fixé à parité avec le Deutsche Mark et bénéficie donc du même taux de change vis-à-vis de l'euro.

Orthographe et grammaire

Du fait d'alphabets différents les noms et divisions nationales de l'euro ne s'orthographient et ne se prononcent pas de la même façon dans tous les pays de la zone.

Du fait de la diversité des règles grammaticales au sein de la zone euro, le mot « euro » sur les pièces et billets est invariable et ne prend pas de « S ». Toutefois, dans la langue française, alors qu'il ne se prononce pas; par us et usages à l'écrit, un « s » est généralement ajouté au pluriel. L'Académie française s'est prononcée dans ce sens dans une note publiée au Journal officiel du 2 décembre 1997.

En revanche, en France, le terme « cent », prêtant à confusion, n'est généralement pas utilisé en français ; on parle de centime ou, dans une forme plus rare et déconseillée, d'eurocent (pour ne pas confondre avec les centimes de franc pendant la phase transitoire). Pour des raisons similaires, il est dit centimo en espagnol, centesimo en italien, lepton (pluriel lepta) en grec, alors que ne se pose pas ce problème en anglais, par exemple, langue dans laquelle il est adopté tel quel.

La liaison avec l'adjectif antéposé et le nom euro suit la règle habituelle du français, on prononce donc un(n)euro, dix(z)Euro, vingt(t)Euro, quatre-vingts(z)Euro, cent(t)Euro, etc.

Pour ce qui concerne Eurocol, EURO est invariable.

Les États membres

          La zone euro, parfois appelée eurozone, est une zone monétaire qui regroupe les pays de l'Union européenne qui ont adopté l'euro (EUR, €) comme monnaie unique. Sur les 28 États membres de l'UE, 19 utilisent l'euro. Ces 19 pays représentent plus de 338 millions d'habitants au . La zone euro a été créée en 1999 par onze pays :

Allemagne, Autriche, Belgique, Espagne, Finlande, France, Irlande, Italie, Luxembourg, Pays-Bas, Portugal, rejoints par la Grèce en 2001, par la Slovénie en 2007, par Chypre et Malte en 2008, par la Slovaquie en 2009, par l'Estonie en 2011, par la Lettonie en 2014 et par la Lituanie en 2015.

Les billets et les pièces circulent depuis le 1er janvier 2002 mais sont fabriqués depuis le 1erjanvier 1999 dans les onze pays fondateurs. Plusieurs critères sont nécessaires pour rejoindre la zone euro : un déficit public inférieur à 3 % du PIB, une dette publique ne dépassant pas 60 % du PIB, une inflation maîtrisée, une indépendance de la banque centrale du pays et une devise nationale stable pendant au moins deux ans au sein du MCE II.

Le taux directeur refi de la zone euro, fixé par la Banque centrale européenne, est de 0.000 % depuis le 10 mars 2016 (il est publié sur le site de la Banque centrale européenne). À partir du début de l'année 2010, avec le déclenchement de la crise de la dette publique grecque, puis de la crise irlandaise, la zone euro entre dans une période de turbulences. Au cours de nombreuses réunions du Conseil européen et de nombreux sommets européens, l'architecture globale de la zone euro va connaître de profondes évolutions.

Les micro États

          En plus des dix-neuf pays membres de l'UEM, quatre micro-États utilisent l'euro comme monnaie officielle légalement sans être membres de l'Union européenne. Les accords antérieurs permettant à ces micro-États d'utiliser leur monnaie en parallèle de celle de leur voisin respectif ont été reconduits.

  • Saint-Marin et le Vatican, qui avaient des accords avec l'Italie pour avoir leurs propres pièces (en lire vaticane et lire de Saint-Marin), utilisaient jusqu'alors la lire italienne.
  • Monaco avait des accords avec la France pour utiliser le franc français en parallèle du franc monégasque.
  • La principauté d'Andorre, qui utilisait le franc français et la peseta espagnole au moment du passage à l'euro, s'est retrouvée de facto dans la zone euro. Initialement, Andorre n'avait pas le droit de frapper ses pièces en euro avec sa propre face nationale, mais à la suite d'une négociation avec la BCE et la Commission européenne, un accord intervint le 30 juin 2011, qui lui permit déjà de frapper des pièces commémoratives (sans cours légal). Depuis le , Andorre peut émettre ses propres pièces de monnaie, lesquelles commencent à circuler le 15 janvier 2015.

Cette situation leur permet d'avoir leurs propres faces nationales sur les pièces qu'ils émettent en euro.

J'ajouterai que ces quatre micro États ne participent pas aux frappes de monnaie "en émission commune", parce que "non membres".

Sans accord formel, le Montenegro et le Kosovo utilisent l'euro mais son utilisation n'est pas régie par une convention monétaire.

1 vote. Moyenne 3.00 sur 5.

Commentaires (4)

zitoun999
  • 1. zitoun999 (site web) | 19 Juin 2017
Thank you tablets australia for your nice comment
tablets australia
  • 2. tablets australia (site web) | 18 Juin 2017
Nice post. I learn something new and challenging on blogs I stumbleupon on a daily
basis. It's always interesting to read content from other authors
and use something from other websites.
zitoun999
Thank you Angela for your interest to Eurocol
kewvineyards.com
  • 4. kewvineyards.com (site web) | 29 Mai 2017
It's genuinely very difficult in this busy life to listen news on TV,
so I only use the web for that purpose, and take the hottest
information.

Ajouter un commentaire

Date de dernière mise à jour : 03 Avr 2018